Architecture for Social Justice Awards: Partnerships in Teaching—Work in Progress, 2003-2004

Moderator: ELAINE OSTROFF

ADAPTIVE ENVIRONMENTS

INTRODUCTION

The Architecture for Social Justice Awards: Partnerships in Teaching program was initiated by Adaptive Environments, Boston, MA to recognize and support faculty who are leading studios that address human equity for both students as well as those who inhabit or experience the built environment. Jurors selected faculty who successfully responded to criteria that included real world problems, with community-based clients and opportunities for user involvement in the design process; potential for enhancing the health and well being of communities, people, and the environment; and methods for evaluating student work and studio outcomes other than the traditional jury review.

Inspired by Kathryn Anthony's Designing for Diversity, the Boyer Report, and The Redesign of Studio Culture, a report of the AIAS Studio Culture Task Force, the Architecture for Social Justice Awards Program: Partnerships in Teaching is funded in part by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

This working session will include discussions that address the varied paths that students took over the course of the term and the collaborative nature of the work with other organizations and disciplines. A poster exhibit will illustrate the complexity of these award-winning studios. The discussion will engage other faculty and produce recommendations for the online publication. Architecture for Social Justice Design Studios 2003-2004.

PRESENTERS:

HANSY BETTER Rhode Island School of Design

LYNNE DEARBORN
University of Illinois at Champaign Urbana
JASON LOCKHART
Southern University School of Architecture

KEITH DIAZ MOORE Interdisciplinary Design Institute, Washington State

MICHAEL GAMBLE W. JUDE LEBLANC Georgia Institute of Technology

JOSE GAMEZ, Ph.D University of North Carolina at Charlotte

JOONGSUB KIM, Ph.D Lawrence Technological University

KAREN KING GEOFFREY ADAMS University of New Mexico

BRIAN LONSWAY Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

CHRISTOPHER MONSON Mississippi State University

DR. MARDELLE SHEPLEY Texas A&M University